Dinesh Chandra Chattopadhyay (27 January 1917–10 February 1995) can be best described as a fighter and that spirit found reflection in his works as well. He was a part of the Indian independence movement in his youth, following which he studied the sciences, and also started his professional journey as a publisher. As a litterateur he gained recognition in 1962. His longstanding dream of publishing good literature turned into a reality in the late ’60s. The Kishore Bharati magazine was published for the first time in 1968, with him as the editor. The magazine became a platform for a new kind of writing which was very well-received by the readers. He received the National Award in 1962 and the Vidyasagar Award in 1987, two of the most prestigious awards in India.

Besides Duronto Eegawl (1981) , Chattopadhyay is also remembered today for other important works like Oder Bnachte Dao (2015), Bigyan’er Duhswapno (1962), Neel Ghurni (1962), Pratham Purush (2000), and Bhaba Samagra (2002).

Books By Dinesh Chandra Chattopadhyay